Run no. 35 – Try and stay with me

keep up

Distance: 4.53 miles   Time: 40’13”   (PB 39’ 39”)

I almost never had to say this to a running partner!

Usually it is quite the reverse. Usually it is them heading off towards the horizon and me chugging and puffing like a terminally ill steam train desperately trying to keep them in sight!

This particular phrase started spinning around my head because I had just heard it at a Taizé worship/meditation event at Our Lady and St Nicholas, Wanlip; just before I went running.

Stay with me.

Remain here with me.

Watch and pray.

Watch and pray.

The thing about Taizé music is that it gets into your head, it just starts spinning around and takes on a life of its own.

It leads you into meditation in an often surprising way.

As I was led into this I suddenly realised that I had been misunderstanding the song completely.

The words are based on those of Jesus to His disciples in Matt 26:38. About to be betrayed and endure His trial, torture, and death, He asks the disciples to watch and pray with Him in the Garden of Gethsemane.

However, I had always thought that the song was using those words as a prayer that we addressed to God, asking Him to stay with us. But it suddenly dawned on me that actually it’s the reverse.

For any desire for God, has its origin in God.

No one can come to me unless the Father who sent me draws them[1]

So every prayer has its origin in the heart of God.

If ever we feel like we want to pray, that in itself, is irrefutable and incontrovertible evidence of God, at work in us.

And God’s desire is simply that we stay with Him. And not just for 5 minutes in the morning, or for an hour on a Sunday, or for one week a year in a spiritual retreat.

No, God’s desire is nothing less than that we spend each day, all day, every day in His presence; that we ‘be’ with Him.

I invite you to listen to the Taizé song and respond to God’s call to your heart – to stay with Him.

Taizé – Stay with Me

[1] John 6 :44 NIVUK

Leave a Reply

